Blogs

Gluten! Come out, come out wherever you are!

“Now that we have discussed the conditions associated with gluten intolerance, it is time to talk about what foods contain this wheat protein. Gluten is found in food that contains wheat, barely, or rye. Pasta, cereals, and bread are the most common places gluten can be found. It may seem easy enough to avoid eating bread, but what some people don’t realize is that gluten can be hiding in other food products such as soup, licorice, and luncheon meat. This makes it very important for gluten intolerant patients to know how to ready food labels. Key words to look for when reading a food label are “wheat”, “rye”, “barley”, “triticale”, “malt”, “malt flavoring”, “malt vinegar”, “food starch”, “modified food starch”, and “hydrolyzed vegetable protein”. These foods contain gluten and should be avoided. Another tricky food is oats. Studies have shown that oats are gluten free; however, oats often come into contact with wheat making them not gluten-free. It is this reason that makes food selection in stores troublesome. Sometimes gluten may be used in other ways such as a thickener in foods such as ice cream or ketchup. Stores, such as Wegmans, are making food selections much easier for people living with gluten intolerance by adding a “GF” to the label or “Gluten-Free”. If it is ever unclear if a food is gluten-free or not, contacting the manufacture can help to get answers.

Now, let’s talk a little bit about what grains can be eaten! Several grains and starches are considered okay to eat while on a gluten-free diet. These include corn, rice, potatoes, tapioca, arrowroot, amaranth, quinoa, millet, and sorghum. It is important to make sure that flour alternatives that are made out of these grains are not blends made with part wheat flour.

Remember, although a food may seem like it contains gluten, always check the label to see if it has “Gluten Free” on it!

To find out more about some not-so-obvious foods that contain gluten, check out this link: http://www.foodallergygourmet.com/Celiac/foods_containing_gluten.htm. ”

via Marco? Gluten! Come out, come out wherever you are! | RD in 3.

Advertisements

How are we doing? Comment below:

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s